#HashTagsBeforeTwitter

There is a history for me, about the little # key on our keyboard. I am a very theme oriented person; just ask my kids about such things as Scooby Doo, Veggie Tales, reels of film, Hello Kitty, and all the hundreds of other subjects I would run wild with, if any one of them merely mentioned they LIKED it. Oh, you like Scooby Doo? I will search out every last item known to man, with that on it. And fruit snacks, and shampoo, boxers, rugs for the inside of a car. Yes, I overdid it. My holidays, birthday parties, classes I taught at school, and pretty much any gift I ever gave, had a THEME.  When social media exploded, I could barely figure out how to use an answering machine, never mind when computers came out, I always had a fear of deleting the whole system. Fast forward to now, I don’t need an answering machine anymore, and I am pretty good on a computer. And, I have a blog but I do not Twitter. That’s not to say I won’t , but not yet. Okay, so WHY did I name my blog #hashtagsforlife ? Aren’t hash tags only for Twitter? No. Before Twitter, hash tag had its very own definition. And, it is SO who I am, and how I think. Ready for this? Hash tags were often used in information technology to highlight a special meaning in 1970!! Thus, it’s a THEME!!!  It is a word or short group of words that describes the subject matter. While I may learn to utilize it down the road, and tweet out some inspiring words; for now, if you see a # on my writings, it is the THEME of whatever message I am trying to convey.

#DefenderOfTheHashTagImage

One thought on “#HashTagsBeforeTwitter

Leave a Reply

