#CheckMate

Decisions. This word strikes terror in my heart. I am guessing probably in YOURS too. Every day from the minute we open our eyes, the decisions begin. They start out very small – do I want to take a shower? What should I wear today? Do I want to stop at Starbucks or Dunkin? Should I wear a coat? And on and on and on our day will present us with choices to make.  This all represents the game of Chess to me – It’s your move. It’s my move. It’s your move. It’s my move. (yawn…..)

But then – BAM!  THAT all important move that determines if you WIN or LOSE! All your senses go on red alert; you start to wonder if your opponent can read your mind; you strategize, and carefully  plan your next move – THE move that will change everything! Your Queen or King stands ready to move in.

LIFE feels like a Chess game to me;Image. But NOT a game….THIS is the big league! THIS is the real deal! My moves, my strategies, my decisions will affect and maybe alter my future. Oh, and definitely affect other people; the other players will depend on my move to make THEIR moves.

You don’t want to be that Queen or King that gets taken out, and tossed to the side, when you COULD HAVE been the last man standing!  Be willing to stand alone  with your head held high. That final player on the Chess board is NEVER hunched over.

 

Leave a Reply

