#HerNameIsRoxanneAndHerHomeIsTheStreet

I wasn’t going to share this, but feel I should. Maybe for no other reason than for us all to realize the homeless man or woman or child in the street, has a name.

Image
Her name is Roxanne. She lives in the streets of Hollywood; she sleeps under signs that advertise the next great movie coming out. She sometimes sleeps in the parking lot of a beautiful cathedral church. Where we (me and Aida) found her, was an alley. She may not be able to walk well, or stand long – I don’t know. Whenever we have seen her, she is laying flat out on the sidewalk. You can’t meet someone like Roxanne without being changed. She had a little section of the alley lined with her own trash – broken objects, bags of garbage, cups, plastic forks – that kind of stuff. She was laying on a filthy blanket that she had laid out to look like a bed. On the top of her organized trash, was a vase with plastic flowers in it. It still makes me cry – she was trying to create herself a home!

I was so honored to talk to her – we talked about God, how He knew exactly where she was….as I was telling her that He cared about her, and wondering what those words might mean to someone down in the drudges of the filth of life, I remembered I had brought her a blanket. I am telling you this because, we all need to understand that God DOES care – I ran to the car to get it. A red and black blanket with my own personal history coming with it. God told me THIS had to be the one I brought to her. It was that gentle pull at your heart that says THIS is what you have to do. I took it over to her, and told her the truth – God told me to give this to you. She gave a little gasp, and said – Oh, I saw this blanket in a movie once (she told me the movie and all about it) – the lady had this blanket/shawl and I really wanted one. It was red and black. I had no words. I just said, well do you see what is happening here? God wants you to know He hasn’t forgotten you. She held my hand, still there laying on the ground, surrounded by garbage. But she had a warm Easter dinner, a blanket only God knew she wanted, and the love of God shining on her dirty face. To me, she was the most beautiful person I had ever met. Roxanne. My new sister in Christ, on Easter 2014. In a back alley in Hollywood.

‪#‎YouCantMakeThisStuffUp ‬ ‪#‎TakeJesusToTheStreets‬ ‪#‎TheStreetsAreFullOfAngelsUnaware‬

4 thoughts on “#HerNameIsRoxanneAndHerHomeIsTheStreet

  1. They use the phrase “God is good” in church and you’re supposed to respond with “all the time”. I rarely do, because it seems hollow when said in a repetitive manner (just like saying the Lords Prayer without thinking about the words). I read this and said, “God IS good all the time”. This is the right time to say it! He is not a respecter of mankind. He is just good. Thank you for sharing!

  2. well I now know why Joe you ended up in CA and brought you there maybe you are home, maybe you have found your path, your calling .

  3. well I now know why Joe ended up in CA and brought you there maybe you are home, maybe you have found your path, your calling .

  4. “What a BEAUTIFUL motion picture this is!” And a real tear-jerker too. I am so blessed that you decided to share this. ♥ It’s the real people like you [& Roxanne], that sincerely share [post] & pour your hearts out for [and with] others, that I find the most touching and wonderfully made. I just love how Jesus’ hands, feet, heart, and sometimes a blanket… gets around! THANK YOU!!! GOD BLESS!!!

Leave a Reply

